fugard festival of comedy

I’ve just arrived back from the Fugard Festival of Comedy night and while I’m on a high and before I hit the sack just want to let you know that this is something you quite simply need to see over the next three weeks.

I was lucky enough to act quickly yesterday to win a pair of tickets which funny man Rob van Vuuren was giving away in a Twitter competition. I was quick on the draw and there was completely no catch so the next thing I knew there were a two tickets with my name on at the door. As the little Twitter conversation on the link below will illustrate.

View the story “Tickets to the Fugard Fest of Comedy” on Storify]

Now this was a funny prize to win as I didn’t know the show was on, knew absolutely nothing about who was in the show or what it was and had never been to the Fugard Theatre before. Simply on the strength of van Vuuren’s comedy did I decide to go along.

You’ll think I’m making this up, but I was pleasantly surprised to see Alan Committie running proceedings and amazed that Mark Banks was headlining. Two of my favourite South African comedians and I didn’t even know. Stupid idiot didn’t even see a poster on the way in.

What followed was two hours of great entertainment and fun. As it was the opening night in a three week run there were a few small glitches with the sound and that sort of thing, but nothing that took away from the enjoyment.

Committie and Banks really stole the show and if you’re in Cape Town you have to read more by CLICKING HERE and get your lazy ‘Capetonians commit to nothing’ asses down to see this.

On a night of pleasant surprises I was also blown away by the Fugard Theatre. Right now I don’t have the time nor the inclination to look it up, but it’s modern and swanky and seriously nice. A far cry from where you feel like an exhibit in a museum at the Baxter or some kind of minority terrorism cell when you go to Theatre on the Bay. This is styling hard.

Leave a comment